Merchant Navy Medal Recipients

The Department for Transport and Maritime & Coastguard Agency have announced winners of the Merchant Navy Medal for Meritorious Service, which is awarded each year to those who have gone above and beyond in their service to the maritime industry.

Among them is Captain Neil Atkinson and he has been recognised for services to maritime education. Also, Steve Watkins for his services to maritime apprenticeships and Guy Platten for services to the maritime sector. The Chamber would like to congratulate all the well-deserving recipients for their meritorious service and actions.

Some personal quotes from the Chamber team:

Kathryn Neilson, Director, MNTB said:

“Neil is a great Maritime ambassador with many years of dedicated service to the global marine industry, receiving the Merchant Navy Medal is a fitting tribute to a very knowledgeable and dedicated professional”

“Steve has given many years of dedicated service to the global maritime industry and thoroughly deserves this prestigious award which recognises his service and commitment to seafarer training and education.” 

The full list of recipients is as follows: